Dr. Niaz Abdur Rahman


Dr Niaz Abdur Rahman
QUALIFICATION: MBBS, D.Ophth, MPH (John’s Hopkins, USA).
ABOUT DOCTOR: Presently the Managing Director of Bangladesh Eye Hospital and a Vitreo Retina Surgeon. Dr. Niaz Rahman obtained his medical graduation of the University of Dhaka from Sher-e-Bangla Medical College, Barisal.

CHAMBER/HOSPITAL-1: Bangladesh Eye Hospital Ltd.
LOCATION: 78, Satmasjid Road (Road#27), Dhanmondi, Dhaka
CONTACT INFO: Phone: Phone: +88 09666787878, +88 02-9102264, Mobile: +88 01755660041, +88 01916629999
VISITING HOURS: Bangladesh Eye Hospital
Saturday-9:00am-12:00am & Wednesay-9:00am-12:00am & 4:00pm-6:30pm
Offday: Friday

CHAMBER/HOSPITAL-2: Retina Foundation & Eye Center
Location: House# 17,Road# 109, Gulshan-2, Dhaka-1212, Bangladesh
Phone: 9884588, 9884566
VISITING HOURS: Saturday-4:00pm-7:00pm & Monday-4:00pm-7:00pm
Offday: Friday

SPECIALIZATION- Eye, Vision, Cataracts, etc.

Fundus Fluorescein Angiography to visualize vascular structures of the inner eye
Color Fundus Photography to document the actual picture of the retina
Slit lamp and External Photography
Ocular Ultrasonography B scan and A scan with biometry
Keratometry to measure corneal curvature
Tonometry to measure the eye pressure
Binocular Indirect Ophthalmoscope to view the inner eye.


EDUCATION: In 1986 he obtained his Diploma in Ophthalmology degree of the University of Dhaka from the National Institute of Ophthalmology. He went to USA with the prestigious Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship and obtained a Masters of Public Health Degree with special emphasis to Public Health Ophthalmology from the Johns Hopkins University. From 1990 to 1992 he was at the University of British Columbia, Canada as a full time Clinical Retina Vitreous Fellow and received Fellowship and extensive training in retina vitreous surgery, laser photocoagulation and angiographic techniques. His major interest has been in the field of Retina Vitreous.

AWARDS: He has been awarded the 5th Prof. M. A. Matin Gold Medal in 1996, the Mabarak Ali Gold Medal in 2010 and the Outstanding Service in Prevention of Blindness Award by APAO in 2012.

Send to Friend

Leave a Comment